New Stock

Marble London Hawkers Sign


A little piece of London history!
London County Council was the principal authority in London from 1889 until the 1960s. It was based in County Hall in Lambeth, on the banks of the River Thames, the building now standing next to the London Eye. Designed by Ralph Knott, the building opened in 1922 and we believe this marble sign originates from around that time. The letters are cut into the marble and then painted, the paint having worn and faded over the decades. The marble is solid but could be drilled to make it wall hangable - we can discuss this with the buyer. Charming wording.

Additional courier rates apply - please read

H: 28cm W: 51cm D: 1.5cm

Add To Cart